Board of Directors Information

The American Board of Neurological Surgery consists of 15 directors and officers selected from practicing neurosurgeons certified by the board. Directors are elected after nominations are received from the following societies:

  • American Association of Neurological Surgeons (4)
  • Society of Neurological Surgeons (4)
  • Congress of Neurological Surgeons (4)
  • American Academy of Neurological Surgery (1)
  • Neurosurgical Society of America (1)

Each director serves for a single six-year term. Appointments are staggered and 2-3 new directors join the board each year.

Executive Director

Fredric B. Meyer, MD


(As of June 2021)

Kevin Cockroft, MD 
Hershey, Pennsylvania 

Frederick Boop, MD
Memphis, Tennessee
Vice Chair

Daniel K. Resnick, MD, MS 
Madison, Wisconsin

John A. Wilson, MD 
Winston-Salem, North Carolina



(As of June 2020)

Cargill Alleyne, MD
Augusta, Georgia

Richard W. Byrne, MD
Chicago, Illinois

Paul J. Camarata, MD
Kansas City, Kansas

Judy Huang, MD
Baltimore, Maryland

Randy Jensen, MD 
Salt Lake City, Utah

Steven N. Kalkanis, MD
Detroit, Michigan

John J. Knightly, MD
Morristown, New Jersey

Elad I. Levy, MD, MBA
Buffalo, New York

Russell Lonser, MD
Columbus, Ohio

Nathan R. Selden, MD, PhD
Portland, Oregon

Marjorie C. Wang, MD 
Milwaukee, Wisconsin

The main office for the American Board of Neurological Surgery is located in Rochester, Minnesota.

Staff are available Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Central.